For the humanities and social sciences: large number of Adam Matthew digital collections added

Start Date
March 26, 2021 - 5:29 pm
End Date
June 1, 2021 - 5:30 pm

Tulane Libraries recently gained perpetual access to all pre-2016 digital collections offered by the venerable publisher Adam Matthew.  This includes 77 collections, containing more than 12 million pages of content, valued at more than $3.4 million.  The access came through a group-purchase arrangement negotiated with the publisher by the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL), of which Tulane is a member. 

We already owned a number of these collections from previous purchases over the past dozen years or so, since these are very high-quality collections. However, the ASERL group purchase still provides Tulane students and faculty with a large number of new collections, and fills some gaps with later additions.  

The Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) is a membership organization serving 38 research libraries in 11 southeastern US states, created to develop innovative partnerships, exchange information about best practices and emerging issues, and improve services to the students, faculty, and communities they serve. 

Adam Matthew is an academic publisher based in the United Kingdom and the United States. It has been an independent subsidiary of Sage Publications since 2012. The company specializes in online primary source databases and curated collections for the humanities and social sciences.

A full list of Adam Matthew digital collections included in the group purchase is provided below.  See the library’s Databases list for links to these and our other Adam Matthew digital collections.  Those links are upgraded for off-campus access.

  • African American Communities - www.aac.amdigital.co.uk 
  • American History - www.americanhistory.amdigital.co.uk 
  • American Indian Histories and Cultures - www.aihc.amdigital.co.uk 
  • American West - www.americanwest.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Apartheid South Africa - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/Apartheid 
  • China, America and the Pacific - www.cap.amdigital.co.uk 
  • China: Culture and Society - www.chinacultureandsociety.amdigital.co.uk 
  • China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 - www.china.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Church Missionary Society Periodicals - www.churchmissionarysociety.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Colonial America - www.colonialamerica.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/CP_Africa 
  • Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/CP_LatinAmerica 
  • Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/CP_MiddleEast 
  • Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961 - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/CP_NorthAmerica 
  • Defining Gender - www.gender.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Eighteenth Century Drama - www.eighteenthcenturydrama.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Eighteenth Century Journals - www.18thcjournals.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Empire Online - www.empire.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Everyday Life and Women in America, c1800-1920 - www.everydaylife.amdigital.co.uk 
  • First World War Portal - www.firstworldwar.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Foreign Office Files for China Section - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/FO_China 
  • Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/FO_India 
  • Foreign Office Files for the Middle East - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/FO_India 
  • Frontier Life - www.frontierlife.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Global Commodities - www.globalcommodities.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Grand Tour - www.grandtour.amdigital.co.uk 
  • India, Raj and Empire - www.indiaraj.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 - www.jewishlife.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture - www.masstourism.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Literary Manuscripts: Berg - www.literarymanuscriptsberg.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Literary Manuscripts: Leeds - www.literarymanuscriptsleeds.amdigital.co.uk 
  • London Low Life - www.londonlowlife.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/Macmillan 
  • Market Research and American Business Reports, 1935-1965 - www.marketresearch.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Mass Observation Online Archive, 1937-1967 - www.massobservation.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Medieval Family Life - www.medievalfamilylife.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Medieval Travel Writing - www.medievaltravel.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Meiji Japan - www.aap.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Migration to New Worlds - www.migration.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Nixon Years, 1969-1974 - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/Nixon 
  • Perdita Manuscripts - www.perditamanuscripts.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Popular Culture in Britain and America - www.rockandroll.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900 - www.popularmedicine.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Romanticism - www.romanticism.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Shakespeare in Performance - www.shakespeareinperformance.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice - www.slavery.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History - www.travelwriting.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Victorian Popular Culture - www.victorianpopularculture.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Virginia Company Archives - www.virginiacompanyarchives.amdigital.co.uk 
  • Women in The National Archives - www.archivesdirect.amdigital.co.uk/WTNA 
  • World’s Fairs - www.worldsfairs.amdigital.co.uk 
Adam Matthew digital collections