Neville Prendergast honored as a 2021 Medical Library Association President’s Award recipient

This April, Neville Prendergast, Director of the Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences, was honored as a recipient of the Medical Library Association’s (MLA) 2021 President’s Award. The President’s Award is presented to an MLA member or group of members for significant contributions made during the past year to enhance the profession of health sciences librarianship and further the objectives of the association. In recognition of his work evaluating and improving practices relating to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) within MLA's programs and outreach efforts, Neville was rewarded for his efforts in making the Association more reflective of our society at large. He has been engaged in DEI work at MLA and in other professional venues for many years, which made him a natural choice to head Tulane University Libraries’ DEI committee. A formal awards ceremony will take place on May 10, 2021 during the opening session of the MLA 2021 meeting for which Neville is also leading the planning efforts with a colleague at another medical library. Congratulations to such a well-deserving member of the Tulane community! 

Neville Prendergast, Director of the Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences, headshot